December’s Drawing In.

For the last year or so my art practice has been focused on an investigation on the legend of the minotaur. Although I know I really should get round to writing something about the motivations and scope of the project, a large element has been an open approach, using any material that comes to hand, experimenting, trying new things and not allowing myself to be bound by a particular set of criteria and so to put down exactly what I’m trying to achieve seems at the moment impossible, as I’m still not sure what that goal actually is.

Having just given a lengthy excuse for not writing, writing is the latest medium that I’m experimenting with – I’ve always seen language as much of a material for art production as  acrylic, clay, bronze whatever you choose to work in, and I’ve blogged before about artists who work exclusively in words.

Througout December I’m going to be turning my attention to drawing – partially to get better at it and partly because there’s some immediate about sitting down with a pen and a sheet of blank paper and whether you end up with a completed piece, a germ of an idea or just a nonsensical doodle, it’s still a great way of giving physical form to whatever is sloshing around your brain.

Tonight my ‘drawing’ took the form of a odd little fragment of a story, it just came once I’d written the first few words, and then before I knew it, it was finished. I think I can regard it as a ‘sketch’ in as much as it does the same thing that a sketched image does, it gives you the sense of something incomplete but with the potential to go somewhere, of a situation that needs to be resolved.  I don’t know if the story will grow, or if it will remain as it is, an odd little narrative scene that might make the reader wonder what’s really going on, but I think there’ll be other stories to come.

Anyway these strange little vignettes will be appearing on here – I hope you enjoy them.


Leave a Reply

